The Marijuana Policy Project’s Nevada Marijuana Legalization Initiative (NV-CRMLA) is set to be voted on in Nevada this year, Nov. 8, 2016. While Nevada’s medical marijuana laws will be unaffected by the initiative, it benefits voters to educate themselves on what the passage of NV-CRMLA will mean for Nevadans and what rules and provisions they will encounter if the initiative passes. If you haven’t had a chance to look into the details, take a look below for a brief outline.
- Personal Possession & Cultivation
NV-CRMLA allows for a person 21 or older to possess an ounce of flower or an eighth-ounce of concentrate. Eligible adults are allowed to cultivate six cannabis plants and may have up to 12 plants per residence. However, plants must be grown more than 25 miles away from a licensed pot shop. Misdemeanors for illegal home grows include monetary fines for the first and second offenses, a monetary fine and potential jail time for a third offense and a category E felony for a fourth offense (mandatory minimum of one year in prison, up to four years).
- Commercial Marijuana
NV-CRMLA provides for grow licenses at $30,000, with $10,000 to renew; store licenses at $20,000, with $6,600 to renew; tester/distributor licenses at $15,000, with $5,000 to renew; and manufacturer licenses at $10,000, with $3,300 to renew. All licenses require a non-refundable $5,000 fee to be paid.
- Retail Shops
The initiative limits areas pot shops are allowed to be established in (away from schools and community centers, for example) as well as limiting Nevada counties in number of total pot shops allowed, with Clark County allotted up to 80 total pot shops.
- Public Smoking
Persons who are caught smoking in public, including moving vehicles, will be charged with a misdemeanor as well as a $600 fine.
- Criminal Backgrounds
Felons with a class A felony or any two other felonies on their records within the past 10 years are disqualified from obtaining a commercial marijuana license.
- Tax Revenues
Marijuana will be subject to a 15% excise tax paid by growers and based on the fair market value of wholesale marijuana (determined by the state of Nevada). Windfall from marijuana fees and taxes are earmarked to pay off state and local regulatory expenses first with the remaining monies set for an education fund within the state general fund.