If you believe you may have need of a medical marijuana patient card in Nevada but are confused about the steps you’ll need to take to obtain one, today’s blog sets out the process you’ll need to follow as well as necessary information to have ahead of becoming a registered patient.
Who Can Obtain a Card
A Nevada resident who has the proper recommendation from a physician. Patients will need a doctor to fill out the physician’s statement in the application packet.
Individuals applying to become a patient must be diagnosed with one of the following conditions:
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Cachexia (wasting and malnutrition associated with chronic disease)
- Persistent Muscle Spasms (including Multiple Sclerosis)
- Seizures (including Epilepsy)
- Severe Nausea
- Severe Pain
- Additional conditions specifically approved by the Department of Health and Human Services
How to Obtain a Card
The Nevada government’s medical marijuana registry flow chart is a thorough, easy-to-reference guide to applying for and obtaining your medical marijuana patient card. View the complete list of steps here. A simplified version is laid out below:
- Determine that medical marijuana is a sound course of treatment with the help of a doctor’s recommendation
- Request an application ($25 fee)
- Fill out application (Patient will need proof of Nevada residency, a physician’s statement as well as a notary to notarize the waiver and acknowledgement. Notary fees are the responsibility of the patient.)
- Return application with registration fee ($75 fee)
- Pass background check and wait for 30-day temporary acceptance letter
- Receive approval paperwork and obtain card from DMV ($13.25 charge for card at time of pick up)
Obtaining Medicine and Medicine Amounts
Patients may only legally obtain cannabis from dispensaries licensed by the state. If you are located in Southern Nevada, go here to see our map of open dispensaries in and around the Las Vegas area. Patients without a dispensary in their county may cultivate their own medical cannabis.
Patients are allowed to posses up to 2 ½ ounces of medical cannabis in a single 14-day period.
The law allows for both adults and minors to become enrolled patients in Nevada. In the case of a patient who is a minor, the minor patient’s custodial parent or guardian must sign a “minor release” form in their application and that custodial parent or guardian must act as the minor’s designated primary caregiver.
Patients and caregivers are exempt from arrest and prosecution for conduct allowed under the law, such as purchasing and possessing medical cannabis acquired from a state-licensed dispensary. Patients who exceed possession amounts and/or do not participate in state-run registry are subject to prosecution, but are entitled to present a medical necessity defense in court.